Brut IPA advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muz

Reaction score
I’ve been brewing for about 18 months now. Mainly pale ales and IPAs as I just wanted to dial in my basic process before I started branching out into anything requiring additional knowledge, equipment or technique. I pretty happy with my basic process now and I’m thinking of branching out and trying a brut IPA for my next beer. I’ve had a couple I’ve really liked

I’m wondering if anyone has any tips or advice or could point me to a good article or recipe.

Those who have brewed a brut before – what did you learn through the process and what would you do differently if you brewed one again?

Thanks heaps.

Brian.

I haven't brewed one to be honest, I don't think it would be to my liking but pulled this recipe off AHA.
Von Ebert Brewing Sabrage Brut IPA | American IPA
INGREDIENTS
  • For 5.5 gal (20.8 L)
  • 8 lb (3.63 kg) Pilsner malt
  • 2 lb (0.91 kg) Flaked Rice
  • 2 oz (56 g) Citra hops (mash)
  • 2 oz (56 g) Citra hops (lauter)
  • 2 oz (56 g) Citra hops (whirlpool)
  • 6 oz (170 g) Citra hops (dry hop)
  • 2 oz (56 g) Chinook hops (dry hop)
SPECIFICATIONS
  • Original Gravity: 1.050
  • Final Gravity: 1.000
  • ABV: 6.6%
  • IBU: 10
DIRECTIONS
Mash at 142° F (61° C) for 60 minutes. Mash out at 168° F (76° C). Lauter onto Citra hops. Boil for 90 minutes. Add cold water to hit target gravity if needed, then add whirlpool hops. Ferment with a neutral ale strain at 65° F (18° C). After terminal and diacetyl rest, dry hop for 3-5 days. Force carbonate or bottle condition to 3.0 volumes of CO2. For a special version of this recipe, try incorporating a grape varietal into the fermentation.