Brewing Terminology

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joecast

Eat, drink...and drink some more.
Reaction score
hi all,
im a bit new to home brewing and very new to this site. i have checked a few other places on the web for brewing terms but was hoping to get something more centralised and easier to use. since the people here seem pretty knowledgable i was hoping for some help. just post anything you would classify a "brewing term" and a short definition. thanks
joe

LME = Liquid Malt Extract (goo!)
DME = Dried Malt Extract (powdery stuff)
any letters in from of these generally indicate colour..

like LLME Light Liquid Malt Extract
A for Amber, D for Dark, P for Pale

that answers a lot of questions. thanks guys, any more will be appreciated
joe

how about this one...autolysis??
i think the spelling is right. something about yeast going bad...maybe??

Joe,

Autolysis occurs when the yeast begin to die and break down, releasing all their internals into the brew. From what I have read this takes quite a few weeks of them lying in the bottom of the fermentor for the types of yeasts we use for beermaking. If it does occur it is characterised by rubbery/sulphur tastes and smells and by all accounts once experienced - never forgotten.

This I believe is one reason why a lot of brewers recommend racking the beer, ie siphoning from one fermenter to another after a small number of days of primary fermentation. The dead and tired yeast has flocculated out (sorry, I've just always wanted to use a word like that in polite conversation) which is to say its dropped to the bottom. When you rack your beer you leave all of that behind and therefore you can leave your brew in the second fermenter for a few weeks to condition without any great danger of this Autolysis happening.

Trev

Joe,