Brewing on a Sailboat....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewOnBoard

Reaction score
G'day all, great site you got here!

My name's BrewOnBoard and I'm living in Anacortes Washington U.S.A. (just North of Seattle). Been living on a sailboat for 10 years (but recently bought and moved into a small house) and we're planning on sailing down to Australia and going 'round it in a few years. Australia is very close to my heart because I lived and went to school for years 8-12 in Melbourne. I've also worked in The Isa but that's another story....

I started brewing about 15 years ago at a brew-on-premises place where they had all the kit and ingredients there. The guy that ran the place was magic and he made us feel like we were doing all the work, but really he kept us from screwing up the batches. Those batches were all extract and steeping grains. Good times.

Took some time off brewing and a few years ago took it up again. I had to pair down the equipment and technique quite a bit to be able to do it in a small sailboat galley, but I was able to figure out what kit was necessary and what wasn't. Been doing extract and steeping grains on the boat for a few years now.

Now I'm trying to perfect the art of brewing with limited ingredients. I've brewed a couple kit and kilos before but and they weren't great, (mainly due to piss-poor technique). My goal is to make the best beer I can with 100% shelf-stable ingredients. To me that means only using Coopers kits, DME/spraymalt, sugars, dry yeast and water. If I get access to fresh grains and pellet hops on the voyage, great, I know how to use those, but for the rest of the trip, I want a bilge full of ingredients that I can turn into good beer!

Nobody else seems to know the Kit and Kilo techniques like the Aussies, so I look forward to learning a lot!