Brewing Is Contagious

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Danhutch333

Reaction score
It's amazing how enthusiasm for just about anything will bring people out of the woodwork.

I've been travelling along my brewing road for 8 - 10 months and would have to say that I'm fairly excited about the journey. I've made a few fine beers and some not so fine. I've discovered a bunch of different hops and the significant changes which can be made by selecting one over the other. I've got my first all extract + crystal beer almost ready to put in a bottle and I'm blown away by the improvement over my kits & bits brews. I've been taking notes all the way along and I'm looking forward to the brews to come to see where this craft will take me (and my taste buds).

Through out all of this I've been chatting to friends, family and work mates and the contagion is spreading.
A friend now has a fermenter, my brother has just purchased a fresh wort beer kit as a "family" present (3 birthdays in 3 days - my wife, my son and me) and I am about to hold an impromptu brew day for friends at the conclusion of the combined family birthday party.

Now, I'm not a good brewer by any stretch but I am enthusiastic about what I do. I've been quick to point out both the positives and negatives when sharing one of my beers with someone AND despite all my failings I've been pleasantly surprised by how many people come back for more. I've been even more surprised by how many friends are now talking about putting a brew together, even my brother who was dead-set against it for a long time.

Good-times all round!

It's amazing how enthusiasm for just about anything will bring people out of the woodwork.