Breweries around Melbourne

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dan2

Reaction score
My partner has a week of pracs at RMIT next month, so I thought I'd tag along and check out the surrounds. Never been to Melbourne before.

I'm open to suggestions on bars in the area to get a tasty pint (especially something dark, strong, belgian this time of year). Also Breweries to visit.

We'll be staying Sunday night - Friday morning on Albert st. East of the city.
We will have our own transport and her study is only 0900-1300, so plenty of time to drive around in the arvo.

Do you mean Albert street, East Melbourne?

Close enough to Mountain Goat to make it a crime not to go.

I'm no expert on melb bars/breweries, but you could try:
Little Creatures (yeah, i know, not a vic brewery) on Brunswick St, Fitzroy.
Highly recommend Mountain Goat also - great beers & setup. They also generally have something going thru a randall on the bar (yay hops!!). Food is also v good.
3 Ravens in thornbury - not been to the brewery, but some of their beers are fantastic, imho.

Foodwise: within a few 100m's of the corner of Smith St & Gertrude St in Fitzroy/collingwood has some good options, and Victoria St, Richmond for Vietnamese has some awesome cheap food. Kinda depends on your budget, though.

When I got into brewing, and after a visit to the Brewboys outlet, my dear girlfriend demanded that we have a randall when we set up our bar :D

So - Mountain Goat added to the must do list - thanks.

Keep em coming

Dan2 make Mountain Goat your plan for Wednesday night then, as they're only open Weds and Friday nights, starting 5:30. Weds is when they give a little brewery tour as well.