Boil Times

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PryorBrewing

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I have a quick question, With boil times. I am putting down a recipe tomorrow That has 20 min addition and a 0 min addition.

My question is this, do i still need to do a full hours boil or can i just do the 20 min and 0 then chill my beer ??

Would love to know the same im only new to the boiling aspect so im trying to get my head around it.. is 0 min the same as flameout?

Hey Guys,

I have a quick question, With boil times. I am putting down a recipe tomorrow That has 20 min addition and a 0 min addition.

My question is this, do i still need to do a full hours boil or can i just do the 20 min and 0 then chill my beer ??

If you are doing a can o goo recipe, then you don't need to boil for 60mins. Just make up a small wort boil with a gravity of 1.040, and throw your hops in, boil for 20m, throw in the next hops and immediately take off the heat.

Boiling is done for very different reasons in all grain brewing however. But if it's a kit and a few bits n pieces, then you only need to boil for the hops additions.

Timryan
Yep, 0min is flameout.

20 minutes would be more than enough to kill any bacteria or introduced microorganisms introduced by the grain, unless you live in an extreme high altitude zone (Im guessing no).

If youre just using a can of goop, well, IMO you dont need to boil at all - of course you do for the hops, but otherwise it serves no purpose being that the liquid malt is in a sterile tin.

@timryan: 0 minutes = flameout.

creepy, we both posted 'can o goop' at the same time. :icon_cheers: