Bochet

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave70

Le roi est mort..
Reaction score
Anyone had a crack at this?
I've tried to pin down a method, but they seem to vary wildly from maker to maker. Some boiling the honey down then adding the water, others adding the water at the start and reducing the lot.
I'm basically looking at doing a 5L batch and having it finish in the 8-12% range.
I'm leaning toward boiling the honey down to the required color first (see helpful pic) then adding the water to halt the cooking, but I'm unsure with how much to start with.
Any suggestions?

3ycux.jpg

I have never made it but a few friends of mince have. When it comes to cooking less is more in my opinion but maybe it is an acquired taste which once you get use to you like the super cooked.

I have no experience with it but I believe you will have more success googling 'bochet'. There's some threads about it on homebrewtalk and gotmead.com forums.

I have done a few bochet's, and you cook the honey only to start with.
As it darkens the toffee and caramel flavours increase. You can cook it to
your taste and when your ready take it off the heat and add the water slowly,
preferably with the lid mostly on and wearing gloves and long sleeves as it will
spit at you while adding the water.
Also note that the honey will expand to about 4 times its original volume so you need
a big pot.

Very interesting, I'll give this a go soon.

Thanks for posting, Dave.

Anyone have a good recipe to share? I have 3kg of honey and I'm tossing up on a Mead or a Braggot

make sure when you begin to boil the honey you are in some sort of sealed chamber as you will attract million of flying ******* bees.

I had the little buggers streaming in through the skylight last time.

Oh.... my....