Bleach as Sanitizer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nala

Reaction score
I have used bleach as a sanitizer for years, never had a problem.
I have mixed...10 mls of bleach and 10mls of white vinegar to 6 litres of water for sanitizing fermenters etc, since I started brewing 8 years ago.
I recently bought my usual home brand bleach from Woolworths and having compared the listed active ingredients from my old bottle to the new bottle I find that Sodium Hydroxide has been reduced from 9 g/ltr to 4 g/ltr. Could someone advise please whether I need to double the dosing from 10 mls / 6 liters to 20 mls/6 litres.
I attach 2 pictures of the bottle labels.

2014-11-02 09.40.51.jpg

2014-11-02 09.42.10.jpg

My understanding (PLEASE CHECK BEFORE FOLLOWING - I HAVE NOT USED BLEACH FOR A LONG TIME AND WE ARE TALKING ABOUT DEADLY GASES) is that you mix bleach and water, then add your vinegar portion.

That would be logical as your not mixing the vinegar with a more concerntrated bleach if you add it to diluted bleach so the reaction wont be as severe

nala said:
I have used bleach as a sanitizer for years, never had a problem.
I have mixed...10 mls of bleach and 10mls of white vinegar to 6 litres of water for sanitizing fermenters etc, since I started brewing 8 years ago.
I recently bought my usual home brand bleach from Woolworths and having compared the listed active ingredients from my old bottle to the new bottle I find that Sodium Hydroxide has been reduced from 9 g/ltr to 4 g/ltr. Could someone advise please whether I need to double the dosing from 10 mls / 6 liters to 20 mls/6 litres.
I attach 2 pictures of the bottle labels.
Why not use this as an opportunity to move from bleach to a no-rise sanitising formulation?

Ducatiboy stu said:
Use starsan to sanitise and nappi-san to soak and clean