Best fridge option for kegging system

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thuperman

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been brewing for a few years and have always been a bit intimidated by the move to kegs. One of the main reasons is turning a fridge / freezer into a kegging system (buying the right gear, converting the fridge, drilling into it, etc). But, I must bite the bullet.

I've got a couple of choices for a keg fridge at home.

1) Old Westinghouse Silhouette Series II 423 fridge with no freezer - this is currently my beer fridge and has been fantastic. I use the top shelf for home brew longnecks and the other shelves for various six packs, singles, soft drink, and whatever people leave at my house. It's probably the best option for kegs but is also the best for that spare fridge that sits in the shed.

2) Old 320L chest freezer (needs a new seal) - could become a keezer but it seems too big.

3) An old upside-down fridge / freezer - it seems a waste to have the freezer running when it's not being used. I assume it will be big enough though.

Any thoughts on the right choice?

Is drilling a hole in the front to install the taps, and re-wiring the fridge really that scary?

Thanks for your help.

Delpy.

320 ltr freezer, will hold 6 kegs 18ltr and 2 9's on the hump

upside down, the freezer holds you hops

straight fridge is your fermenting chamber

drilling is fine

you can buy temp controllers

Thanks mxd. Was your second line an alternative to using the chest freezer or a suggestion for the "spare fridge"? I also have a bar fridge which I didn't mention is being used as a fermentation fridge. Fits a 25L fermenting container nice and snug.

I think I know what the answer to this will be, but do I really need a kegerator / keezer that holds 6x18L and 2x9L? (I assume the 19L will also fit)