BeerSmith 3 - worth the upgrade?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chesl73

Reaction score
Hi all

I’ve been using BeerSmith 2 for a few years and I’m very happy with it. Works well.
I’ve been looking at BeerSmith 3 and the changes/improvements over what I currently already own seem pretty minimal from what I’ve seen. I have no intention of brewing wine or mead and the other functional improvements seem very incremental.
Anyone considered the upgrade or been using BeerSmith 3, is it worth it? And if so, did you go with the traditional license or the subscription license?

Cheers

The main reason I went with BeerSmith 3 was the improved water profile calculations.

I went with the gold subscription so I can use it on 2 computers - I don't really care about the cloud stuff.

Although I'm not a fan of subscription software at US10 a year I can live with it.

Is it easy to use on the phone?
Mostly concerned about brew day so I don't have to lug out the laptop.

I got the free upgrade because I had purchased BS2 not long before BS3 came along. If you're not into mead or wine, then as Altone said, water calcs are the main difference.
I use the cloud heaps, load up recipes I'm about to brew and take my tablet to brewhouse (garage) and I'm away.

I got it mainly for the water profile stuff - in BS2, nothing that is added or removed from the recipe affects the predicted mash pH, but in BS3 they've fixed that issue so now it does. I also like the improved calculations for late/whirlpool hop additions. Not worried about using the cloud or multiple devices; I'm still somewhat old school and write all my recipes down in a notebook which I use on brew day, then input that data into Beersmith later.