Beer Not Fermenting All The Way - Final Gravity 1025 - 1030?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philski

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm having a serious problem with my fermentation....

The last 4 brews I've done are only 2.5-3% alcohol! Not good when I have been aiming for 4.5-5%!!!

The problem is the same for the last 4 brews... The beer is not fermenting out all the way. It gets down to a final gravity of 1025-1030 or thereabouts, from 1045-1050 and stops... I even kept one in the fermenter for over 2 weeks and it didn't get any lower than 1030.

Now I'm relatively new to all grain brewing, but I'm working out everything using Beersmith. So for a 23L batch, I have 5.3kg of Joe White pale/vienna malt and about 200-250g of crystal. Beersmith says the original OG est is 1050 for 66% efficiency and an estimate of 1013 final. For the last brew I got an OG of 1047 and final of 1024.

I'm uising Safale US05 yeast, fresh from Grain and Grape. I've tried a starter, rehydrating the yeast and dry pitching and it doesn't seem to make a difference. All the beers bubble happily for a few days, but they don't get down to the expected low gravity. They are fermenting at about 20-22 deg.

I thought maybe the beersmith data I had was wrong but if it's starting at a gravity of around 1050 I assumed it would ferment out. Obviously this isn't the case.

Could it be that my mash technique is not yielding enough fermentable sugars? Would the gravity be 1050 if this was the case?

I'm stuck here. Any help would be much appreciated as brewing is now becoming frustrating and not relaxing, not where I want it to be.... :(

More info:
- Analysing everything with Beersmith
- Mashing using a modified esky at 66 degrees (single infusion)
- I've tried several different recipes