Base malt: Pale Ale malt v Ale malt (2row)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What is your base malt of choice

• Golden Promise

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Pilsner

• Other

• Total voters

Truman42

Reaction score
Howdy gents,

Just wondering what is the chosen base malt you guys use when buying in bulk? (The one you would use for the majority of your brews)

I know that Pale Ale malt is slightly darker and maltier than Ale malt, (Strange considering its called Pale malt) but interested in what would be the more popular choice.

I've created a poll (because everybody loves a poll) and have added other choices to the poll, but was more interested in the choice between Pale and ale.
Cheers

i am fairly new to all grain..first grain i used was briess 2 row,now have bag of weyerman pale/TF maris otter.."better grain for better gain"

There is a difference between pale ale and ale malt?

about the same difference that pilsner and ale malt has..... :ph34r:

Different base malts for different beers...

Briess 2-Row for pretty much anything American.
TF Maris Otter for English.
Weyermann Pilsner for lagers.
Joe White Pale for Aussie Ales.

Pratty1 said:
about the same difference that pilsner and ale malt has..... :ph34r:
Not sure I understand that... but 2-Row is closer to Pilsner than other common Pale Ale malts.

2 row is the type of barley - all the choices above will be 2-row. Not sure if we can get 6-row here, nor why anyone would want it if we could. Some may differ.

As above- it's beer dependent for me. I use maris for uk and most us, pils for German or Belgian (and/or munich/vienna for german), gp or mo for scottish, jw for au, etc. Will buy and have bought all types in bulk.

manticle said: