Barrett Burston Malt?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SJW

As you must brew, so you must drink
Reaction score
Just wondering what Barrett Burston Ale malt is like as I have never used it before? Also what does it perform like. I would normally use German Pils Malt and either MO Ale or JW Ale malt. Any info would be great.

Steve

I found it to be quite good and up to scratch considering it is relatively cheaper than other brand ale malts.

Would u recomend the pale or the ale malt for doing English bitters and Porters

Ahh yes, the problem with the BB descriptions is that BB pale is actually lager malt not ale. Galaxy is pilsner malt and ale is "ale"!?!

I found there is a fair bit of non-grain material in the bags i.e stems etc. Not really a problem considering the price though.

I use BB grain, have used Ale and Galaxy for the last couple of brews, gets my vote.

I found there is a fair bit of non-grain material in the bags i.e stems etc. Not really a problem considering the price though.

Interesting - I handle over a tonne a month of this grain & have never experienced your findings. I've certainly found in Powells malts though, but not Barrett Burstons.

cheers Ross

i've actually had a load of sh!t in Weyermann malts lately, including a lump of white stone that just about took the knurling off the rollers in one spot.

I tried BB Ale when I was making Pommy style Ales and I thought it was great.

Just wondering what Barrett Burston Ale malt is like as I have never used it before? Also what does it perform like. I would normally use German Pils Malt and either MO Ale or JW Ale malt. Any info would be great.

Steve

I bought a bag from Ross of the Pale Malt and used it in all my ales , I wish I had bought four bags now it was great Steve .

I prefered it over the JWM IMO

Pumpy :)