Anyone Know A Good Recipe For A Regular Aussie Lager

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kierent

Reaction score
Hi all
First let me clarify that I'm well past only wanting to drink VB or New, and for myself I pretty much brew hopped up APA's or stouts or ambers or whatever else takes my fancy. However, I'm finding that while some of my family and friends love the hoppy craft beer thing, others just want to drink New or something bland like that.

I'm thinking that because I have 2 kegs, maybe a good way to go would be this Christmas to have a standard aussie lager (or maybe something similar to super dry) on one keg and something more interesting on the other. So does anyone know of a really good kit or extract recipe that will get these results?

I'm thinking pride of ringwood hops (which I've never used before), dextrose instead of all malt to make it a bit thinner on the mouth. I haven't tried any of the aussie lager kits available, maybe there's a good one out there? I'm asking here before trying myself because I don't want 23 litres of ordinary beer that I have no interest in drinking :)

Thanks all

Your plan looks sound to me. Morgan's Blue Mountain Lager seems to be one of the better regarded kits in this style. I'd go light on the POR - and not for the usual reasons. Not much point making a hoppy beer for the people who don't like hoppy beers, you know. I'd just put a small amount to freshen the kit up a bit. If you have the ability to ferment at lager temps grab yourself a good clean lager yeast and everyone should be happy - if not both US05 and Nottingham have good reputations for making faux-lagers when brewed cool.