Any Successful Diets / Eating Plans?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bribie G

Adjunct Professor
Reaction score
I've been hovering round the 95k for a couple of years but really should be 83 max so I've adapted a diet I found on the web and so far I've lost 5k in 2 weeks and hopefully going to crack the 90k in the next few days.
I used to be on a Paleolithic diet (eat what you can dig off the ground, pick off a tree, or kill with a club or sharp stick) but it was far too restrictive, although I lost a fair bit back then.

New eating plan:

Brekky around 9 am:

Every day, 3 eggs made into a plain omelette with olive oil
1/4 rockmelon
kiwi fruit or some grapes etc but not banana which is full of carbs.

about 330ml of trim milk mixed with a heaped dessertspoon of psyllium.

That keeps me going all day, no real hunger until dinner time then I normally have a curry and rice. I grow okra and eggplant, and heaps of snake beans ATM so it's just a veg curry out of the garden + crisper. Then I can have my few pints.
Ever since I was a kid I have never been a lunch person so maybe others might not have success, but just losing those few kilos is an incredible boost to mobility and energy. Also the psyllium is wonderfully cleansing but let's not go there. B) The Psyllium, eggplant and okra also drag down the cholesterol apparently.

I've never had weight issues, but i've often though a battery drill and packet of large self tapping screws applied to the fridge door would work! :p

BTW curry and rice is good, as long as your not using ghee, they're great!

Cheers SJ

oh, and great work on the diet!

I follow Billy Connolly's diet advice -

"You want to loose weight. Easy. EAT LESS. MOVE MORE."

My walk to the station and back each day (40 mins each way with some serious hills) keeps the gut in check.