Another '1st AG' Thread...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HardEight

Reaction score
So it looks like today was a busy day for 'AG virgins' as another couple of people have already posted their fun of the first day all grain brewing...

Having looked at a lot of pics of people's rigs and read a shitload of stuff about AG on this forum (and brewing in general, thanks everyone!)
Here is my story..

So I started brewing K&K's in January this year... realised there was a heap more to brewing and progressed to partials then stovetop AG and then building an AG rig (It took a few months...)

Here is the result of planning, sorting out what I wanted to use (gas, HERMS), could afford (keggles+esky, kaixin pumps).. would work.. etc
IMAG0933.jpg

IMAG0944.jpg

IMAG0857.jpg

So I went with a Dual Immersion Coil system... 9m of 1/2" copper tube in both the HLT and the BC... HLT for HERMS... BC for slight cooling pre-chiller (30 plate). After I bought the 55L esky I read about RIMS and HERMS systems so I have kept the esky anyway and incorporated the HERMS system with that.. I went with copper manifolds for the esky, slotted for suction and drilled for the top (sits on the grain bed).

IMAG0950.jpg

So anyway today... 1st brew day... I went with "Operation Mongoose Brown Ale" ... It seemed simple enough...
But I had some issues:

My MLT outlet probe was reading 66 (PID was controlling to that temp)... but i had another probe reading the outlet of the HERMS.. and it was reading 2 degrees higher 68... (when by-passing the HERMS coil)... I stuck an analogue temp gauge in the mash and it showed 67deg.. So I didn't adjust anything, thinking 66, 67, close enough, should I have adjusted the HERMS PID SP a degree lower? What about the next brew I do, is a degree going to make a huge difference?