American Amber Ale + Honey

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smidgey

Reaction score
G'day,

I'm quite new to what I would call 'enthusiast' home brewing and am just looking for a spot of recipe advice before brew day. In a previous incarnation I did a couple of Coopers kits and a brand-name lager clone at one of those brew-on-premises type places, but now I'm working on learning the art and science of beer and am building up to all grain brewing.

To get the ball rolling I did a couple of kits and tweaked the recipes slightly, and I've currently got a monster Russian Imperial Stout sitting in the fermenter. For my next beer I'm looking at doing an American Amber Ale with an addition of honey; here is what I am looking at so far:

1.0 Kg Crystal Malt (60L)
15g Cascade hops

in a 5L, 30 minute steep at 65 - 70 degrees celcius plus:

0.5 Kg Light Dry Malt Extract (60 mins)
2.0 Kg Light Dry Malt Extract (10 mins)
0.5 Kg Clover Honey (30 mins)
12g Cluster hops (60 mins)
15g Cascade hops (30 mins)
20g Cascade hops (10 mins)

in a 60 minute boil which will then get topped up to a 20L batch. I'm using Safale US-05 yeast and expecting an OG of about 1055, with an ABV of around 6%.

Given that I've never worked without a kit before I'm going totally on what beersmith says an Amber Ale is and things I've read around the place. I'm told cascade hops are THE typical hops for American pale styles, and the US-05 is a typical American yeast but any indication on this being in the ball park of that style, or what I need to modify to achieve it would be fantastic.