All Set To Go, But.....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macr

Reaction score
Ok. I have finished my fridge :D(photo at the bottom). I have a mashmaster fridge controller :). I have my recipe for Jever Pils:
3Kg Black Rock Light LME
1Kg Morgan's Larger LME
440g Carapils (cracked and ready to go)
56.6g of tettnang hops (pellets)
45.6g Hallertau hops (plug)
10g Irish Moss
Saflager W34/70 Lager yeast
Got a small esky to steep grains
Got a 19L ss pot to boil and
Have fermenters.

Now the questions?
After I have done all the additions and boil and have poured the wort into fermenter then cooled to ~20*C. I pitch the yeast. How long do I leave it out of the fridge after pitching? Or can I put it straight into a fridge that is chilled to ~10*C?
After I reach my FG of 1011, I remove the fermenter out of the fridge and rack into a cube. I let it rest for how long? Is racking into a cube the same as secondary fermentation, or is it not due to be refridgerated for a while at ~1*C?

brewfridge.jpg

I'm not sure you can mash carapils by itself. The one I tried had no enzymes and needed to be mashed with other malt grain -

I haven't used that yeast but i have heard you can either add it and wait till it gets going and drop the temp or pitch at the rights temps. Live and learn

lou

I'm not sure you can mash carapils by itself. The one I tried had no enzymes and needed to be mashed with other malt grain
lou
Thanx Lou. I'll PM this thread to the person I bought the stuff off. He should be able to enlighten us to this quandry.

as i far as i know carapils is just a very light crystal and u should be able to steep the carapils as i have done once before

as i far as i know carapils is just a very light crystal and u should be able to steep emas i have done once before
Are you having a slght case of lysdexia? :p