Airlock Not Bubbling

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New2thebrew

Reaction score
I am a newbie, and after a couple of batches of just can & kg sugar, I called in to my HBS to get some advice, and a couple of recipes to make better beer.

So yesterday I put on the following;

1.7kg ESB Old Ale kit & 1kg Dark Dried Malt in 4 litreas boiling water, stirred for 1 minute, add Fuggles hops (steeped for 10 mins), top-up to 22.5L

The can stated that yeast should be added at 22c, however given the weather in Brisbane, it was way too hot, so I closed the fermenter (without the yeast) and put it in a can cooler with some bottles of frozen water & freezer blocks to get the temperature down. It took nearly 5 hours to get the temp down enough, at which point I gave the wort a stir, let it settle, and then added the yeast, closed the lid & fit the airlock (was about 5.30pm). OG was 1.042.

When I got up this morning to rotate the frozen bottles, the temp was still around 22c. Whilst I note from reading threads on AHB that Ale should ideally be brewed between 18-20c, the can states a constant temp of 22c is ideal, so not too worried, however the airlock is not bubbling.

Am I just being impatient, or is there a problem given how long it took before I added the yeast.

Thanks for helping a naive newbie :beer:

it can take a while before the yeast start if you just poured it in I wouldnt worry takes 24+ hours for mine to start off if I just pitch dry yeast at around 20c

My airlock has NEVER bubbled, and my beer has always turned out fine. In fact, I've given up on airlocks, and just use gladwrap with the rubber from the lid to seal it.