Air Lock Tightness

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UsernameTaken

Reaction score
I am just about to brew and I have noticed the rubber grommet for my air lock is broken.

I tried to work around it but busted it more!

So now I am debating sticking the air lock in loose or wrapping some tape around the base to seal it?

Or holding off until I can get a new one tomorrow?

Cheers,
UNT

Just put some glad wrap over the top of the fermenter & use the rubber seal in the lid as a "lacky band" around the glad wrap to seal it. Everything will be fine.

You could try blu-tack.
However if you use the cling wrap method (as I've been doing since 2009) I bet after the next few brews you'll be saying "what's that airlock you speak of?"

Edit: totally off topic but I feel like a rant.

pnorkle rightly used the term "glad wrap" because all Australians have grown up with the name.
You never hear and Australian saying "cling wrap"... it's always Glad wrap.

Aldi came along and brought out their own version which is called Goliath Cling Wrap.
You can't tell the box from the Glad product from ten paces away.

So what did Glad do? Absolutely unbelievable.
The idiotic morons have now change the name from Glad Wrap to .. wait for it...
Glad Cling Wrap. FFS.
Like they had the definitive name that everyone knows and they toss it down the gurgler. A bit like Arnotts deciding to ditch the Tim Tam name and replace it with "Chocy Creamy Thingos".

That's what is wrong with the country.

******* Glad Cling Wrap. And it's all made in China anyway. And I'm sober, don't get me going after six pints.

End rant.

Last edited: