Acidulated Malt (weyermann) - My Experience

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mobrien

Stubborn Scientist Brewing
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I just thought I would share my experience using Acidulated Malt.

Those of you who know me/know of me will know I've been doing AG for a couple of years. I've got a pretty decent 42L batch size system happening now, and have a temp controlled fridge with a shiny conical inside it.

I'm also a scientist/teacher so like to know the ins and outs. "Principles of Brewing Science" and "Designing great beers" sit on my bedside table.

This is all in way of an explanation for my observations and the context of my brewing.

Ever since the drought/water restrictions hit Brissy, I have noticed the pH of the water move up and up. As a result I started monitoring my mash pH and have noticed that it also has been going up - regularly I get a mash pH of 5.4-5.6. Its not horrible, but not what I want.

I'm reticent to add anything to my brew, so have resisted the "5.2" additive. I was considering using H2SO4 (sulphuric acid) but then came across the Acidulated Malt from Weyermann. After a bit of reading I decided that 150g in my 42L batch would be a good start, expecting it to drop the pH by around 0.1 - I tried this in my last brew, a Wizen. Sure enough, it dropped the pH nicely, down to 5.3 I'll be trying 200g next time, but will wait to taste this brew, which is bubbling away.

As an aside, it also increased my efficiency by around 2.5% - I'll see what happens with replication, but I'm also happy about that!

I just thought that people may be interested. I'll report back with the taste and further experimentation!