Absolutely newby from Eltham Victoria

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woggy_g

Reaction score
HI All,

I'm just starting out brewing. Im an absolute newby. I have not brewed before and I thought that I might give it a go !
I love a good craft beer and the dream is to have a small brew pub.

I'm going to try a Coopers Australian Pale Ale as the first brew.

Crossing fingers that the first brew is good.

Woggy_G

As directed it will be a good start. Also Euro lager as directed.
Tasty and easy the drink, keep temps low and steady, all good.

Duck down to Greensbrough Home brewing supplies (New Shop is Beewah St, Greensborough) and see Dave. He sells fresh work kits that you can buy and ferment, good bloke to go in for a chat.

Getting ready to bottle. Will check sg in the morning. Now for a silly question. How much do I put in the 740 ml pet bottle. I'm going to use coopers carbonation drop. Are they any good?

Woggy_g said:
Getting ready to bottle. Will check sg in the morning. Now for a silly question. How much do I put in the 740 ml pet bottle. I'm going to use coopers carbonation drop. Are they any good?
Yep, they're fine. 2 drops per bottle will give you a good level of carbonation for the styles you've made.

A little bit of a tip though, there is no rush to bottle. Just because the beer has stopped fermenting it doesn't mean it is ready to bottle. Lots of really important stuff happens once the yeast has finished converting all the sugar to alcohol. The yeast will clean up a lot of by-products of fermentation after you've reached your FG and leave you with a cleaner tasting beer.

Everything I brew gets left in the fermenter for at least 2 weeks, sometimes longer depending on the style.

JD

Agreed, Dave is great value. I get all my grains, hops, yeast etc. from him, have for a while now.