A Year Of Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flano

Reaction score
April is 12 months since I started brewing . ( this time)

I did do it years ago with disasterous results...and quit to live a life of Tooheys New in cans.

This is my little bit of advice for others starting out and my personal journey so to speak.

first of all .
A mate was a keen brewer but his beer sucked arse hard.
He made that homebrand kit stuff in bottles.
Bloody awful.
I followed suit for a brief period ....same results.
Horrid kit stuff that all tasted the same.
Wild hangovers with a homebrew taste in my mouth that lasted for days.
Again I quit.....brewing beer can't be done at home...back to Tooheys I went.

Then one day he told me he was now kegging it.
I tried it...and it was a giant leap forward.
Then he told me he had got into that fresh wort gear from the LHBS.
I tried that.....another massive leap forward.
I was sold.

I saved my arse off to get myself a kegerator with all the gear.
I went from zero to about 80 km's an hour in one hit.
no idea what I was doing....no brakes...pretty worried on account of the $1000.00 I had invested.
I was also scared about having to drink homebrew forever....tooheys at that stage tasted pretty good.
I thought the FWK's were as far as I could go. I did not even know about All Grain.

Somewhere along the line I discovered this website.

thank christ !!!!

I started checking out the gallery and was blown away by the lengths people had gone to to make beer.

so I did about 6 months on the FWK's.
I tried all different sorts and to be honest I liked them all..some were bloody great!

in all that time I did one can of of goop and it was shit...I tipped it out.

Then I started getting interested in the BIAB style. I saw Nicks thread and decided to have a crack at it.