A quick cold crashing question...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pharmacisticus

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm about to embark on my first cold crashing adventure with a Coopers European lager.
I'm going to crash down to 2*c for about 2 days, this is just personal preference.

My question is this, I'm told I can crash in the primary fermenter (which is a bog-standard 23L).
Will the tap be clear enough of the trub so that it doesn't all go into the bottles?

Also, if you do crash into a secondary container how do you fill from it?
Do you decant out again or siphon out?

Please remember I'm only a novice and this is my first go at it!

Couple of questions for the price of one, so here goes

2oC for 2 days might not be enough. Depends on a lot of variables but if its a Lager and you want to chill proof (get rid of the protein/polyphenols that can cause haze) the beer you will need a lot longer. There is a pretty good rule of thumb for chill proofing (Lagering) it goes "seven days at minus one and seven days for every degree above minus one". That being the case you would be looking at three weeks to do the job at 2oC.
Different answer if you are just trying to get the yeast to drop faster, again 2 days might not be enough, short answer is chill it till its clear then package or rack.
If you did a full Lager there might not be enough yeast left in the beer to condition it in bottles (not a problem if you are force carbonating in kegs).