A Newbies Encyclopedia To Terminology

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delboy

Reaction score
it seems as a newbie i still have alot to learn and part of that is terminology and temps as pointed out in a few posts. I agree building beer is not an easy task and the steps needed to brew well also plays a big factor.
has anybody ever put in together a newbies guide to mashing? i think it would be a good idea .
it would mention terminology , and steps to doing say your first simple mash .
saying that there must be a fool proof way of helping out a newbie.
it dose not need to be a complex beer just a fine example of a simple ale or tasty larger

i have noticed there are lots of hbc's on this forum maybe they could do a simple mash and one of the club members write it down and then proof read and set it as a guide to mashing .Abit like a model kit instructions
i think alot of newbies like my self would benifit from this . i myself cannot always get to a brew day due to distance .
also with the terminology there seems to be alot of acronims in this forum that could be explaind as well.
eg: DBS= dark brown sugar
HERMS= ???????
HLT= hot liqour tank?
and the list goes on I dont know the half of them and this is why i get a little confused and miss read stuff .
call me an idiot ! thats ok, :blink: but never accuse me of not wanting to learn :angry:

your thoughts and inputs on this would be of great help?

thanks lads
delboy :party:

There's heaps of information out there to answer all your questions you just got to go look for it. Try google or the search engine in this forum. Or another good website is john palmers' how to brew.
Unfortunately beer brewing information aint gonna come up and bite you on the bum, you have to go find it.

Vlbaby.

HERMS= Heat Exchange Recirculating Mash System.