Help Support Aussie Homebrewer by donating:

  1. We have implemented the ability to gift someone a Supporting Membership now! When you access the Upgrade page there is now a 'Gift' button. Once you click that you can enter a username to gift an account Upgrade to. Great way to help support this forum plus give some kudos to anyone who has helped you.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

$15 Kmart Pot / CraftBeerPi BIAB Rig

Discussion in 'Electronics, Hardware & Software' started by mickeytee, 13/8/19.

 

  1. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 13/8/19
    Hello AHB Crew,

    Thought I would share a few pics of my frankenstein CraftBeerPi rig capable of currently doing 10L AG batches but built for expansion. First brew under the belt on Friday night and it didn't skip a beat. Ultimately heading for a HERMS system but have a few life things going on that are currently taking precedence.

    Wiring is a bit messy and still using solderless breadboard to be sorted soon but the guts of it is:-

    Controller:
    Raspberry Pi 3B+ running Raspbian + CraftBeerPi3
    2x Fotek SSR25DA Solid State Relays
    2X DS18B20 Temp Sensors
    1x MeanWell 15W 5v 3A Power Supply
    1× 15A RCD
    Mini XLR Connectors for Temp Sensors
    IEC Connectors for Power
    ABS Plastic Enclosure

    Mash/Boil Vessel
    15.1L Anko Stock Pot from Kmart
    1x 240v 2000W Heating Element
    1x 100mm 1/2" Stainless Thermowell
    1x Weldless Bulkhead/Ballvalve Outlet
    1x False Bottom

    Will be adding insulation around kettle before next brew to keep mash temps closer to the mark when element is not on. CraftBeerPi autotune for the PID works pretty well tho.

    Feel free to ask any questions or if anybody out there has upgrade suggestions im all ears!

    image-20190809_115659_resize_80.jpg 20190809_221847_resize_81.jpg 20190809_221319_resize_58.jpg image-20190809_120007_resize_85.jpg 20190809_222005_resize_8.jpg 20190809_233123_resize_61.jpg
     
  2. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 13/8/19
    Some further pics for those interested:-

    image-20190711_205705_resize_77.jpg image-20190712_113426_resize_23.jpg
     
    matt77 likes this.
  3. Hangover68

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    12/7/17
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    St Helena, Melbourne NE.
    Posted 13/8/19
    Looks good, i'm aiming for a similar system although i went with a 40ltr pot and yet to organise a temp controller.
     
  4. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 30/8/19
    Slowly tidying things up...

    20190830_123139_resize_31.jpg 20190830_123106_resize_84.jpg 20190830_123040_resize_87.jpg
     
    wide eyed and legless and Meddo like this.
  5. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 30/8/19
    Tidy up complete. Updates to be posted once pump arrives! HERMS build shouldn't be too far around the corner utilising more budget pots...

    20190830_222219_resize_95.jpg 20190830_222137_resize_22.jpg 20190830_222108_resize_10.jpg
     
    wide eyed and legless likes this.
  6. hoppy2B

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    31/7/11
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    165
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Posted 31/8/19
    BigW have a 19 litre pot for $20, or at least they used to. They probably still do for all I know.
     
    mickeytee likes this.
  7. coolnerf

    New Member

    Joined:
    3/4/19
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    Posted 31/8/19
    mickeytee likes this.
  8. Summerkill

    New Member

    Joined:
    5/8/19
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Central coast, nsw
    Posted 31/8/19
    Yeah they still have them I got one last week nice set up btw
     
  9. matt77

    Member

    Joined:
    2/8/19
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    adelaide
    Posted 1/9/19
    How warm does the box get with 2 solid state relays?
     
  10. burrster

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9/8/13
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Posted 1/9/19
    Just feel the need to say, you should get a qualified electrician to check out your work, as I'm not convinced it's safe.
     
  11. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 1/9/19
    Hasn't been an issue at all matt - the RPi actually gets hotter than the relays.

    Have done so already burrster. What leads you to not be convinced that it isn't safe; the lack of earthing given all the third pins on the IEC's don't have connections?


    Cheers
     
    matt77 likes this.
  12. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 2/9/19
    Not a silly question at all coolnerf! The 'Aux' temp is just another temp sensor. For example given the DS18B20 temp sensors are waterproof currently I run the "thermowell temp" sensor in the thermowell at the bottom of the kettle and just for curiosity sake put the "aux temp" probe into the top of the kettle in the wort to gauge the temp difference without having the mash recirculate (as I am yet to get my pump).

    I designed it into my system basically to not restrict myself from expansion in the future, given i want to move to a HERMS system and would like 2 temp outputs then.

    If you need a hand with your eBIAB setup I would be more than happy to help.

    Cheers for the bigW link!
     
  13. burrster

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9/8/13
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Posted 3/9/19
    Yes, lack of earth. It's hard to say exactly what is Happening without closer inspection, but the not sure what a 32A breaker(not a 15A rcd as original stated) is doing in there, probably should be 10A max, as it seems it plugs into a 10A gpo, but depending on what is plugged into it, could draw more than 10A. The breaker appears to be switching neutral( but cannot say for sure from those images). Which is unsafe. The point is I felt an obligation to say something, and I am aware alot of DIY goes on, and safety be the first priority.
     
  14. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 3/9/19
    Thanks burrster point taken, do you have any reccomendations in regards to earthing out the heating element itself (given it only has a 2 pole live/neutral on the element with no third grounding terminal)?


    Cheers mate much appreciated
     
  15. burrster

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    9/8/13
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Posted 3/9/19
    In all honesty, I'm not keen to give advice on a public forum, given how many people read it, and the interpret it to suit themselves. That said, you have bolted an electric element to a metal 'body' and not earth it. If that element breaks down mid use your setup now has the potential to be live, and when you touch it, the potential to harm you, or worse. So first things first, connect all required earth's in your control box, and then get you vessel earthed some how. This in turn earths the outer casing of the element as it is bolted to the vessel. Also if what I've noted is true regarding the breaker, replace it with a 10A and have it operate on the active side. Getting a qualified electrician to sort this out for you is the best way to stay safe, as it cannot be done on an internet forum, via advice, only in person, by the qualified person.
     
  16. Truman42

    Pro Pro

    Joined:
    31/7/11
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    565
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Posted 9/9/19
    Looks good mate, i just did the same thing to my guten and used thats ame project box you did. I added an LCD screen and I can switch between the Guten controls or the CBPi controls.
    Take a look here.
    https://aussiehomebrewer.com/threads/craftbeerpi-brew-controller.90757/page-10#post-1541952

    Please dont take this the wrong way but those SSRs are the fake ones and will possibly fail with only 3v3 coming from the Pis GPIO pins. I brought an Inkbird SSR but still use a Darlington array setup to power my SSR with 5v. But you can actually go up to 12 v.
     
  17. mickeytee

    Member

    Joined:
    12/8/19
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Posted 9/9/19
    You've done a bloody nice job mate! I just love the versatility of the RPi! Looks like we have used the same size jaycar box! Pity they dont make one a smidge bigger...

    Yeah the no "Made in Taiwan" label on my SSR's gave it away. Will keep using them til they die and will do a bit more research. I haven't even been brewing much as I am in the process of moving house and fermentation temp control is a pain at the moment but I love the tinkering side of things!!
     
    Truman42 likes this.
  18. Truman42

    Pro Pro

    Joined:
    31/7/11
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    565
    Gender:
    Male
    Home Page:
    Posted 9/9/19
    Yeah thats the problem with that box its too small. Ive got everything crammed in there but Im inly using 1 SSr so well done to get 2 in there..lol. Yeah Im a bit off a tinker too. Also built myself a brewpi temp controller that I use with Fermentrack.
     

Share This Page