Jump to content



Photo
* * * * * 3 votes

Matho's controller


  • Please log in to reply
1854 replies to this topic

#1841 nosco

nosco

    Beer God

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,353 posts
  • Joined 16-October 13
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 12 April 2017 - 12:02 AM

Dam I would have never found that necro thread.

 

http://aussiehomebre...-5#entry1023959

 

More reading.

 

OT Im 43 and I'm getting reading glasses soon for the first time. Its very exciting! Really it is very exciting! Will it help me read faster? I hope so.



#1842 zwitter

zwitter

    Brew Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 12-August 13
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 12 April 2017 - 12:08 AM

Hey Nosco

A little respect please for the years of development across the globe for the great Mathos controller and beyond.

I personally know of people who put incredible amounts of time and money into developing this controller. Both hardware and software have come an amazing way for a privately developed product. This is still growing globally. There is talk of a new board to upgrade the latest version adding even more capabilities.

Even the very first one I bought just like the one you now have in your hands still works and is so much better than not having one.

Back then it was literally home brew controller. Everyone built their own so they were all different and the quality varied. That is why Lael took on the enormous job of the almost pre built controller and it is a very professional product but the price was significantly greater than the early ones. I would think Lael still has them available for sale.

So before slating the controller think about the incredible product you are now potentially part of and enjoy the process of making what you have into the best home brew controller there is!
One you have personally been involved in constructing and improving.

It was a very long wait for some between stumping up the wads of cash and the final delivery of the controller. A very worthwhile wait.

Zwitter
James

We are here to support all those who have these controllers but embrace the love brother, have a beer, read the posts and we will help you get the controller to where you want to take it.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

#1843 nosco

nosco

    Beer God

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,353 posts
  • Joined 16-October 13
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 12 April 2017 - 12:37 AM

Sorry zwitter! and others...No disrespect meant at all.

 

I wasnt referring to the kits/projects/info themselves I was refering to my individual second hand purchase and on that note Ill blame my total lack of knowledge rather than the controller that I bought.

 

I am in awe of the skill and know how that goes into these (and other Arduino/other) projects. The fact that its open source, in this day and age...is fucking incredible! 

 

I am only just realising that some of the people posting on here are the ones who are creating/pioneering the stuff and giving advise for free.

 

No disrespect meant.



#1844 malt junkie

malt junkie

    Beer God

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Joined 26-April 16

Posted 12 April 2017 - 01:19 AM

so in other news

Attached File  BrewmaniacEx.png   37.04KB   15 downloads

has been ordered :) , now to chase down the parts. That way when it arrives in around 8 weeks I should be able to knock it together. I'll be sending a couple to Lael so Zwitter you might again be a guinea pig, hope you haven't lost you knack with the iron mate. :P

 

Mike



#1845 zwitter

zwitter

    Brew Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 12-August 13
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 12 April 2017 - 06:51 AM

Hi Malt junkie

Nah all good mate and I may have slightly more free time than Lael.

All good.

Zwitter
James


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

#1846 Futur

Futur

    Partial Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 26-August 14
  • Location:BNE

Posted 12 April 2017 - 09:00 PM

Has anyone had any issues with the boil temperature setting to 110C during the ramp to boil, even though you've set it to something completely different in the settings? 

 

This is causing me problems because once I'm at the boil and lower the boil temp to start the boil timer which works, but the PWM doesn't kick in!

 

So PID continues to try and maintain the boil temperature which is ultimately useless and can't maintain a boil. If I then exit and go into setup and then resume the auto mode, PWM then kicks in with a reset boil timer.

 

This is giving me a bit of a headache, there is a workaround but it's quite annoying. Has anyone got any suggestions?



#1847 zwitter

zwitter

    Brew Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 12-August 13
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 12 April 2017 - 10:30 PM

Hi Futur

No but I would suggest you double check ALL the setup parameters.

And then post the details here so the version and the variants you have like language, LCD, PCB, type of settings in the PID, etc and then we can try to replicate what you are seeing

Cheers
James
Zwitter

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

#1848 Futur

Futur

    Partial Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 26-August 14
  • Location:BNE

Posted 14 April 2017 - 10:47 AM

Hi Futur

No but I would suggest you double check ALL the setup parameters.

And then post the details here so the version and the variants you have like language, LCD, PCB, type of settings in the PID, etc and then we can try to replicate what you are seeing

Cheers
James
Zwitter

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

 

Hi zwitter,

 

Thanks for offering to help! I have laels kit with ardbir 2.8.3 from github.

 

A complete list of settings are:

Heating Mode - Gas

P - 100

I - 30

D - 10

Window ms  - 2000

Sample time - 1500

PWM -  85%

Calibration - 0.3C

 

Temperature - C

Sensor - Internal

Boiling - 97C (I've played with this and it's made no difference)

Pump Cycle - 5

Pump reset - 1

Pump premash - off

Pump on mash - on

Pump Mashout - on

During Boil - off

Pump Stop 100C

PID Pipe - active

Skip add - no

Skip remove - no

Skip iodine - yes

Whirlpool - Hot

 

 

I've since completely wiped the arduino mega EEPROM and reflashed with 2.8.3 and have the same issue. I've also tried the development RC of 2.8.3 on github and the boil temp still starts at 110C no matter what boil temp is configured in the setup.

 

There was another bloke with the same issue in the other thread here.

 

I'm just wondering why this is occurring for me on a completely fresh install of ardbir. Unless it's a feature? I'm keen to try older versions of ardbir, however I can't find them anywhere.

 

I'm also curious as to why ardbir uses PID for the ramp to boil and doesn't just use a hard temperature set point and run full power? Seems like a lot of time is wasted during the ramp to boil trying to make it to the last few degrees unnecessarily.



#1849 zwitter

zwitter

    Brew Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 12-August 13
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 16 April 2017 - 08:34 PM

Hi futur

Lael's kit is electric NOT gas. Change that to electric and then set all parameters again.

Then give it a try

James
Zwitter


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

#1850 MaxN68

MaxN68

    Mini Mash

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 12-April 13

Posted 16 April 2017 - 08:43 PM

....

I'm also curious as to why ardbir uses PID for the ramp to boil and doesn't just use a hard temperature set point and run full power? Seems like a lot of time is wasted during the ramp to boil trying to make it to the last few degrees unnecessarily.


Ardbir use the PID only during the mash.
Until reaching the boiling point the power are 100% and then is maintained through a PWM directly adjustable

Edited by MaxN68, 16 April 2017 - 08:44 PM.


#1851 Futur

Futur

    Partial Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 26-August 14
  • Location:BNE

Posted 21 April 2017 - 05:59 PM

Hi futur

Lael's kit is electric NOT gas. Change that to electric and then set all parameters again.

Then give it a try

James
Zwitter


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

 

Well this is embarrassing - I never had it set to gas, I typed that by accident. If it was set to gas it would have never worked in the first place.

 

I still don't know what the issue is unfortunately.

 

 


Ardbir use the PID only during the mash.
Until reaching the boiling point the power are 100% and then is maintained through a PWM directly adjustable

 

 

Are you sure about that? The last few degrees when ramping to the boil temperature are painfully slow and I can see the element being switched on and off using PID!



#1852 zwitter

zwitter

    Brew Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Joined 12-August 13
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 21 April 2017 - 09:02 PM

Hi Futur

Ok
I think you need to adjust your P, I & D values in setup.

There are several brief guides to help set the values. They change the speed to reach the temp and by how much you will over shoot by and the hysteresis or how soon it heats again..

I mess with mine often. In fact maybe Sunday arvo or monday as have just added a second element. 2400watts plus another 2400watts = big heat!

The values will vary for every different system. The element size, pot size, temp sensor placement, pump placement and volume etc, the mash pipe position and size etc.

You can sort of edit them on the fly. I usually use water and change the values and target temp and just keep playing to get it to reach target with minimum time and small overshoot.
'
James
Zwitter


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

#1853 MaxN68

MaxN68

    Mini Mash

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 12-April 13

Posted 21 April 2017 - 11:59 PM

Are you sure about that? The last few degrees when ramping to the boil temperature are painfully slow and I can see the element being switched on and off using PID!


I'm sure

#1854 Fatamorgana

Fatamorgana

    Amateur Brewer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-May 15
  • Location:Norway

Posted 22 April 2017 - 04:00 AM

Im seling one controller who is just assembled never used. Contact med if interested :)

 

13_1388282796.jpg13_510342380.jpg



#1855 MitchD

MitchD

    Partial Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 11-February 14
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 22 April 2017 - 06:21 AM

I'm sure


Depends on the software version actually. Previous versions did use pid to reach boil then switch over to pwm to maintain. There may be a setting such as "use pid in boil" or you may need to update to a more recent version.